How to Improve the User Churn Rate ? Here are 10 Strategies. - Cobub
How to Improve the User Churn Rate ? Here are 10 Strategies.

How to Improve the User Churn Rate ? Here are 10 Strategies.

10 months ago 1 2104


Outline:
• What is user churn?
• Reducing user loss is a top priority for businesses.
• Ten strategies for reducing user churn.
Many companies do not have specific plans to activate silent users and recall lost users. Some companies try to replace lost users with new users, while others spend a lot of time analyzing problems and trying to prevent users from losing them.
Before we discuss the methodology for reducing user churn, we need to understand how user churn is defined.

What is user churn?

User churnrefers to the number of users who leave the product within a specified period of time. According to different products and different businesses, the time period is different. The user loss indicator shows the ability of the product to retain users from the side. Companies will pay a heavy price for the loss of their users.

Data talks

When it comes to the impact of user churn, research has done the statistics, and the cost of getting new users is five times the cost of retaining existing ones. The harvard business school report also points out that a 5 percent increase in retention rates can lead to a 25 to 95 percent increase in profit. There are also data suggesting that retained users are major contributors to corporate revenue.

According to gartner, a consultancy, 20% of retained users will contribute 80% of the company’s future revenues. At the same time, the chances of successful sales to the remaining users are 60-70%, and the chances of successful sales to new users are only 5-20%.

The above data shows that reducing user loss and improving retention of users is the most important and beneficial to enterprises (especially e-commerce enterprises).

What are the adverse effects of user loss on the enterprise?

Reduce enterprise income, affect enterprise performance.
Lower corporate profitability.
Improve enterprise marketing and user recall costs.

There are 10 strategies for reducing user churn.

1. Analyze the reasons for user loss.

Why do users lose? The answer also needs to be found in the user, the most direct way is to talk with the user. Phone calls are the quickest way to talk to users. By telephone, we can know that our products do not solve the users’ pain points, what problems we have caused to users and so on. In addition to phone calls, we can also find out the reasons for the loss of users by sending emails to users, inviting users to comment on the website, or interacting with users on social media.

2. Maintain user engagement.

Maintaining user engagement can help prevent user loss to some extent. In order to maintain user engagement, we need to continue to prove the value of the product to the user. In addition to letting users know the main functions of the product and updating the content of the iteration, we can also show users new transaction information, special offers or recent preferential activities, etc.
Previous face-to-face interactions have been the main way for users to participate, but new research shows that websites and social media are becoming the main ways for users to participate.

Getting new users involved in the product is also a good way to reduce user churn. For example, we can ask new users about the first impression of the product, which helps us understand the initial impact of the product.

3.Give users adequate guidance.

Reducing user churn can be achieved by providing users with high-quality guidance/support information. These guidelines include but are not limited to free training, online BBS, video guidelines or product demonstrations. Good product functionality with enough guidance not only gives users the tools to solve problems, but also gives users a guide to the tools they use. The greatest potential of our products and services is to let users feel that we are paying enough attention to them and that it is not so easy for users to leave their products.

4. Timely detection of users on the edge of loss.

Data from the past loss of user behavior through the analysis, we can come to the conclusion that some loss of user joint behavior, such as they lost before that time is not as active as ever, loss and puts forward some problems to us before but didn’t get our feedback and so on. By identifying these common features, we can predict users who are on the edge of loss and take appropriate measures to retain them.

5. Identify high-value users.

Identifying high-value users and prioritizing the needs of these users is important because our revenue is primarily contributed by these high-value users. There are two ways to identify high-value users: one is to analyze the engagement of users in each stage of the product life cycle, and the other is to group users according to user behavior. We can have a high degree of engagement at each stage of the product life cycle, and the user group that often implements the purchase behavior is considered a high-value user group.
When analyzing user engagement and the behavior of different user groups, we can not only identify high-value users, but also identify users who are on the edge of loss. In other words, we can also predict the loss of users as we determine the high value users.

6. Incentive

There are many ways to motivate users, such as preferential activities, points exchange, etc. In incentives to retain on the verge of losing users or recall has been lost, we must ensure that these measures cost consumed less than these users to our contribution to profits. We can’t afford to waste a lot of human resources to save those who won’t contribute a dime.

7. Target users.

In As A Product Manager, Do You Really Understand the Data Analysis?,We have a product vision – the product must be targeted. After all, the target user is barking up the wrong tree, even if we make the most of it and we can’t let the user stay. If we use words like “free” and “cheap” to attract new users, our new users may not be our target users at all. Those who collect freebies are the most likely to lose. Our target users should be users who value the long-term value of our products, not those who are greedy and cheap.

8. To provide better service to users.

Poor service can lead to loss of users. There are two main reasons for the loss of users: one is incompetent and rude staff, and the other is that the service is too slow to be tolerated. More than 70 percent of the lost users are lost to bad services.

The image above shows the importance of user service. Any service that makes users dissatisfied can lead to loss of users.

9. Value user complaints

The product problem exposed by user complaints is only the tip of the iceberg. According to the survey, 96% of users will not be satisfied even if they are dissatisfied with the product, and 91% of them will leave without a word. Only 4% of users will complain about the product!

Therefore, we must take users’ complaints and complaints seriously and give timely feedback. Research shows that users who receive feedback and solutions are more likely to become loyal users, who can spread our products or services to form a good reputation.

10. Show our competitive advantage.

We need to make it clear to the user that we are different from our competitors; Where we stand out; If users don’t use our products, they will miss something. Knowing these problems, we can see what our competitive advantage is. After knowing the competitive advantage, we can hype it up!
We’ve talked about 10 strategies to reduce user loss, and we want to help the people who run the APP.

用户流失率高怎么破?这里有10个策略 - Cobub
用户流失率高怎么破?这里有10个策略

用户流失率高怎么破?这里有10个策略

10 months ago 1 2103


文章概要:
• 什么是用户流失?
• 减少用户流失是企业的首要任务
• 减少用户流失的十种策略
很多企业并没有制定激活沉默用户和召回流失用户的具体方案。也有些企业试图通过获取的新用户来顶替流失用户的空位,另一些则花大量时间分析问题并想尽办法阻止用户流失。
在讨论减少用户流失的方法论之前,我们首先得明白用户流失是如何定义的。

什么是用户流失?

用户流失是指在特定时间段内离开产品的用户数量。根据不同的产品及不同业务,时间段的确定也各不相同。用户流失指标从侧面表明产品留住用户的能力。企业会为用户的大量流失而付出惨重代价。

让数据说话

谈到用户流失的影响,有研究机构做过统计,获取新用户的成本是留住已有用户成本的五倍。哈佛商学院的报告也指出,用户留存率上升5%可以带来25-95%的利润提升。同样有数据表明留存用户是企业收入的主要贡献者。

根据高德纳咨询公司(美国咨询公司)的数据,20%的留存用户将贡献公司未来收入的80%。同时,将产品成功销售给留存用户的几率是60-70%,而成功销售给新用户的几率只有5-20%。

以上各种数据表明,减少用户流失,提升用户留存对企业(尤其是电商企业)来说最重要并且最有益。

用户流失会对企业造成哪些不良影响

降低企业收入,影响企业业绩
降低企业收益率
提高企业营销和用户召回成本

减少用户流失有10个策略

1. 分析用户明确用户流失的原因

用户为什么会流失?答案还需要从用户身上找,最直接的办法是与用户交谈。电话回访是与用户对话最快的方式。通过电话回访用户,可以知道我们的产品没有解决用户的哪些痛点,我们给用户造成了哪些困扰等等。除了电话回访的方式,我们还可以通过给用户发邮件、邀请用户到官网评论留言或者在社交媒体与用户互动的方式查找用户流失的原因。

2. 保持用户参与度

保持用户参与度可以在某种程度上防止用户流失。为了保持用户参与度,我们需要持续向用户证明产品对其产生的价值。除了让用户知道产品的主要功能和更新迭代的内容,我们还可以向用户展示新的成交消息、特价商品或者近期的优惠活动等等。
以前面对面交流是用户参与的主要方式,但新的研究数据表明,网站和社交媒体也逐渐成为用户参与的主要途径。

让新用户参与到产品也是减少用户流失的好方法。例如,我们可以询问新用户对产品的第一印象,这有助于我们理解产品所产生的初始影响。

3. 给予用户充分的指导

减少用户流失可以通过给用户提供高质量的指导/支持资料的方式实现。这些指导包括但不限于免费培训、在线论坛、视频指导或者产品演示等等。好的产品功能加上足够的指导不仅让用户有解决问题的工具,也让用户拥有使用工具的指南。我们发挥产品和服务的最大潜力,让用户感受到我们对其足够重视,用户想要离开产品就没那么容易。

4. 及时发现处在流失边缘的用户

通过对以往流失用户的行为数据进行分析,我们可以总结出一些流失用户共有的行为,譬如他们流失之前的那段时间不像以往那样活跃,流失之前向我们提出了一些问题但没有得到我们的反馈等等。通过发现这些共同特征,我们就能预测处于流失边缘的用户并采取相应的措施来挽留他们。

5. 确定高价值用户

确定高价值的用户并且优先满足这些用户的需求非常重要,因为我们的收入主要由这些高价值的用户贡献。 辨别高价值用户的方式有两种:一是分析用户在产品生命周期内每个阶段的参与度,二是根据用户行为对用户进行分组。我们可以将在产品生命周期每个阶段参与度都很高,并且经常实施购买行为的用户群组视为高价值用户群。
在分析用户参与度和不同用户群组的行为时,我们不仅可以确定高价值用户,还可以确定处在流失边缘的用户。也就是说,确定高价值用户的同时,我们也能预测即将流失的用户。

6. 激励用户

激励用户的措施有很多,例如优惠活动、积分兑换等。在采取激励措施挽留处于流失边缘的用户或者召回已流失用户前,我们一定要确保这些措施所消耗的成本低于这些用户给我们贡献的利润。我们不能浪费大量的人力财力去挽回那些不会再为我们贡献一分一毫的用户。

7. 找准目标用户

《作为产品经理,你真的了解数据分析吗?》这篇文章里,我们有提到产品愿景——产品一定要找准目标用户。毕竟,目标用户找错了,哪怕我们使尽浑身解数也不可能让用户留下来。如果我们通过“免费”和“便宜”这样的字眼来吸引新用户,我们获取的新用户可能根本不是我们的目标用户。这些收集免费赠品的用户是最有可能流失的群体。我们的目标用户应该是重视我们产品长期价值的用户,而非那些贪小便宜的用户。

8. 向用户提供更好的服务

糟糕的服务会导致用户流失。用户流失有两大主要原因:一是不称职又粗鲁的员工,二是服务慢到让人无法容忍。因糟糕服务而流失的用户占流失用户的百分之七十多。

上图足以证明用户服务的重要性。任何让用户不满的服务都可能导致用户流失。

9. 重视用户投诉

用户投诉所暴露的产品问题只是冰山一角。调查显示,96%的用户即使对产品感到不满也不会吭声,而且其中91%的用户会一声不响地永久离开。只有4%的用户会对产品提出不满或意见!

由此可见,我们必须认真对待用户的抱怨和投诉并且及时给予反馈。研究表明,这些投诉得到反馈和解决的用户更有可能成为忠诚用户,而这些忠诚用户可以传播我们的产品或服务从而形成好口碑。

10. 展示我们的竞争优势

我们需要让用户明白我们与竞争对手有什么区别;我们突出的地方在哪里;如果用户不使用我们的产品,他们会错过什么。搞清楚这些问题之后,就能知道我们的竞争优势有哪些。清楚了竞争优势之后就可以大肆宣传啦!
以上我们讲述了减少用户流失的10个策略,希望对APP运营的小伙伴们有帮助。